First of all, congratulations on your engagement and upcoming wedding! All relationships have their ups and downs, and you both have made it through to a whole new phase, and better together. Preparing to embark on a wedding is nothing short of admirable, and we want to help make your marriage journey as smooth as possible by helping you choose the lucky dates. So here’s a comprehensive list of auspicious wedding dates for this 2018 to start your married life on the best note, plus some traditional tips that’ll keep the in-laws and parents happy.

Choose the best date for this 2018 year calendar and have a happy auspicious marriage day!

Want to book a lucky marriage day? Read on to find the auspicious wedding dates for 2018, month by month.

January

Date Day Not suitable for
1 January 2018 Monday Pig
10 January 2018 Wednesday Monkey
11 January 2018 Thursday Rooster
13 January 2018 Saturday Pig
18 January 2018 Thursday Dragon
20 January 2018 Saturday Horse
23 January 2018 Tuesday Rooster
24 January 2018 Wednesday Dog
26 January 2018 Friday Rat
28 January 2018 Sunday Tiger

Ever heard of the evil spirit of San Niang? Neither have we. But legend has it that the god of marriage refused to pull the silken cord for San Niang, so she could not get married. In vengeance, the lonely San Niang ruined weddings held on the 3rd, 7th, 13rd, 18th, 22nd, and 27th of every lunar month. Avoid these dates and book your wedding to another day. To check out which dates those are on our English calendar, you can easily use an online calendar converter.

February

Date Day Not suitable for
4 February 2018 Sunday Rooster
7 February 2018 Wednesday Rat
8 February 2018 Thursday Ox
13 February 2018 Tuesday Horse
19 February 2018 Monday Rat
20 February 2018 Tuesday Ox
22 February 2018 Thursday Rabbit
25 February 2018 Sunday Horse
28 February 2018 Wednesday Rooster

We were sort of hoping 14 February (Valentine’s Day) would be an auspicious date. No luck there, though. February’s auspicious wedding dates fall right before and a week after Valentine’s day.

March

Date Day Not suitable for
4 March 2018 Sunday Ox
10 March 2018 Saturday Goat
15 March 2018 Thursday Rat
16 March 2018 Friday Ox
19 March 2018 Monday Dragon
21 March 2018 Wednesday Horse
24 March 2018 Saturday Rooster

According to marriage tradition, it is also important to avoid getting married on the birthdays of the bride, groom, parents, and unmarried siblings. If any parents have passed away, it is also important to avoid their birthdays and dates of death.

April

Date Day Not suitable for
16 April 2018 Monday Monkey
20 April 2018 Friday Rat
22 April 2018 Sunday Tiger
23 April 2018 Monday Rabbit
26 April 2018 Thursday Horse

Some traditional families may want to avoid having their children getting married in April due to the coincidental Qing Ming Festival, a commemorative festival for deceased loved ones. This 2018, Qing Ming Festival falls on 5 April.

May

Date Day Not suitable for
4 May 2018 Friday Tiger
6 May 2018 Sunday Dragon
9 May 2018 Wednesday Goat
11 May 2018 Friday Rooster
13 May 2018 Sunday Pig
18 May 2018 Friday Dragon
21 May 2018 Monday Goat
23 May 2018 Wednesday Rooster

If one of the wedding parties is sick or in physical discomfort, it is considered betters to delay the wedding, as superstition has it that the harmony of the bride and groom’s new life will be affected otherwise. Some super traditional folks even go as far as to avoid getting wed whilst the bride is undergoing her menstruation period.

June

Date Day Not suitable for
1 June 2018 Friday Horse
3 June 2018 Sunday Monkey
5 June 2018 Tuesday Dog
6 June 2018 Wednesday Pig
8 June 2018 Friday Ox
11 June 2018 Monday Dragon
14 June 2018 Thursday Goat
18 June 2018 Monday Pig
20 June 2018 Wednesday Ox
21 June 2018 Thursday Tiger
22 June 2018 Friday Rabbit
26 June 2018 Tuesday Goat
29 June 2018 Friday Dog
June is generally filled with an atmosphere of fun and relaxation due to the school holidays. Perhaps, it is little wonder that there are so many auspicious dates during this month.
Happy asian newly wedded couple
Image Credit: Pixabay.com | Pexels.com

July

Date Day Not suitable for
3 July 2018 Tuesday Tiger
4 July 2018 Wednesday Rabbit
5 July 2018 Thursday Dragon
9 July 2018 Monday Monkey
10 July 2018 Tuesday Rooster
11 July 2018 Wednesday Dog
12 July 2018 Thursday Pig
21 July 2018 Saturday Monkey
24 July 2018 Tuesday Pig
26 July 2018 Thursday Ox
27 July 2018 Friday Tiger
28 July 2018 Saturday Rabbit
29 July 2018 Sunday Dragon

Acoording to marriage traditions, a family should also avoid holding two weddings in one year. If a direct relative has passed away in the same year, it is also considered inauspicious to hold a wedding.

August

Date Day Not suitable for
2 August 2018 Thursday Monkey
3 August 2018 Friday Rooster
5 August 2018 Sunday Pig
8 August 2018 Wednesday Tiger

Many who believe in auspicious months will want to avoid getting hitched in the month of August due to the Hungry Ghost Festival, which falls on 25 August. This is supposedly when the gates of hell open, and the deceased are back to visit loved ones who are still alive.

Wedding rings on white cushion
Image Credit: Pixabay.com | Pexels.com

September

Date Day Not suitable for
10 September 2018 Monday Pig
15 September 2018 Saturday Dragon
18 September 2018 Tuesday Goat
22 September 2018 Saturday Pig
23 September 2018 Sunday Rat
25 September 2018 Tuesday Tiger
28 September 2018 Friday Snake
30 September 2018 Sunday Goat

September, however, seems to be an exceptionally auspicious month, due to the Mid-Autumn Festival, which brings good tidings of bountiful harvests, peace, and prosperity. You can consider several auspicious dates at the end of the month.

October

Date Day Not suitable for
3 October 2018 Wednesday Dog
5 October 2018 Friday Rat
7 October 2018 Sunday Tiger
8 October 2018 Monday Rabbit
14 October 2018 Sunday Rooster
17 October 2018 Wednesday Rat
19 October 2018 Friday Tiger
21 October 2018 Sunday Dragon
22 October 2018 Monday Snake
28 October 2018 Sunday Pig
29 October 2018 Monday Rat
31 October 2018 Wednesday Tiger

For many families, the Eight Characters of the bride and groom’s birth times are often considered when it comes to deciding on an auspicious wedding date.

November

Date Day Not suitable for
1 November 2018 Thursday Rabbit
7 November 2018 Wednesday Rooster
8 November 2018 Thursday Dog
16 November 2018 Friday Horse
17 November 2018 Saturday Goat
20 November 2018 Tuesday Dog
22 November 2018 Thursday Rat
26 November 2018 Monday Dragon
28 November 2018 Wednesday Horse
30 November 2018 Friday Monkey

One thing to note is that the monsoon season occurs during this month, so if you’re hankering after an outdoor wedding, perhaps this is one month to avoid.

Sunset outdoor wedding
Image Credit: Ibrahim Asad | Pexels.com

December

Date Day Not suitable for
1 December 2018 Saturday Rooster
2 December 2018 Sunday Dog
4 December 2018 Tuesday Rat
5 December 2018 Wednesday Ox
14 December 2018 Friday Dog
15 December 2018 Saturday Pig
21 December 2018 Friday Snake
22 December 2018 Saturday Horse
23 December 2018 Sunday Goat
26 December 2018 Wednesday Dog
27 December 2018 Thursday Pig

The month of December is one of the most popular months for marriages, due to the other wonderful festivities that occur during this season. Also, it’s ten points for remembrance if you get married say, on Christmas. However, it is also when many of your friends and family will be away on holiday. We’re sure you’ll be able to find a good middle ground.

Newly wedded couple sitting side by side
Image Credit: Pixabay.com | Pexels.com

A happy wedding no matter the date

Remember, although getting hitched on a lucky day may be an important part of feng shui tradition, a happy marriage is always built on a solid foundation of love, not only auspicious dates and superstitions. As long as all parties have been carefully considered, and are committed to trying their your best to make it a successful lifelong marriage, there is nothing left to do but celebrate your wonderful union. Cheers to a long loving life together!

Read more:

Featured Image Credit: Pixabay.com | Pexels.com

User Feedback